Recreating My Favorite Looks #2

OdiyaBride

I think everyone who knows me, knows it pretty well that I’m obsessed with Indian clothes, textiles, accessories and fashion. So this week I re-created something extremely close to my heart- my mum as a twenty-one year old bride. She’s always told both me and my sister how she always wished that her ceremony was shot as a video, and that she had more accessories to wear. But trust me, she looked nothing less than stunning in that bright violet colored sari (a very un-conventional choice of color given how most Indian brides are obsessed with the color red), with a gold zari border and pretty white-tube-roses woven together and twirled around the bun. Odiya people love the color gold and weddings are incomplete without gold bangles, earrings and neck-pieces. That is one picture of hers that has always stayed with me and will continue to in the days to come. I’m not sure if a lot of people know this, but while henna is worn by a lot of brides these days all over India, traditionally alta was worn extensively by women in the eastern states of India during festivities. I love alta. It sort of just brightens up the entire look of an individual. Alta is a red colored liquid which was made out of lac insects earlier. But nowadays synthetic colors are mostly used for making alta. Women also wore a white colored liquid called shringar that smells like heaven on their forehead drawn usually in the shapes of creepers with little flowers and leaves or just a series of dots ending as a flower.

Stay tuned for the next set of looks I’ll be coming up with in the next couple of weeks. Loads of stuff coming your way.

Peace in.

Leave a Reply

