That time I bought a Strawberry Cake

After Dance picture. #RepublicDay’15 #IIITDelhi
Credits: Shantanu Goel

Cake waale Bhaiya: Haanji sir, did you just log in to Zomato for a cake?

Me: Ji Bhaiya. So I need a cake for my friend’s birthday. What’s the minimum cost for a cake? (Yo! Being cheapster with swag B) )

Cake waale Bhaiya: So the cheapest one’s for 350 rupees. What flavor do you want sir?

Me: I want a strawberry flavored one. You have that right?

Cake waale Bhaiya (okay it’s getting too long now, let’s just make it CWB): Yes sir, we do have strawberry. So what do you want me to write on it?

Me: Yeah! So the text has to be, “Have a gay..”.

CWB: Haanji?

Me: Yeah I said, “Have a G-A-Y”, yeah you heard me, it’s gay! I’ll start over. I want the text to be “Have a gay birthday Bestie“. Could you please read it again for me?
 CWB: “Have a G-A-Y birthday bestie“.

Me: (Giggling) Haan haan Bhaiya! G-A-Y. #AwkwardConversationsCanBeFun

Hai eeshwar! Kab aayega woh din jab hum sab bina kisi guilt ke, saaf saaf shabdon mein “Gay” shabd ka prayog kar paayenge?
 (For all those who don’t understand Hindi. It’s okay. What I just said, anyways sounds better in Hindi. 😛 #PunIntended #ILoveEverythingEnglish #IncludingOneDirection )

Moving on. I remember this very interesting story about a kid being obsessed with jaggery (gud). His mother was extremely upset with him having jaggery all the time since he had started having teeth related issues. She would hide it away from him, but he wouldn’t stop. He’d find some or the other way of eating jaggery. His mum came across this Guru ji who everybody in the village said had the solution to every problem. His mother decided to take him to guru ji. They took a bullock cart, crossed the river on a pretty yellow boat, took a blue colored bus and finally after 7 hours of an exhausting journey, reached this beautiful little hill with a pretty little hut on the top. On reaching the hill top they found an old man in saffron colored Dhoti and a shawl wrapped around his torso. “Namaste Guru Ji!”, said the mother. “I’ve come to you with my son. He wouldn’t stop eating jaggery. I’ve tried almost every possible trick to stop him from having it. I’ve beaten him many a times. But he just wouldn’t listen.”

“Let me speak to your son.” Said the old monk and took him to his hut. They had a long conversation and then he asked the mother to take her son back home. He asked them to come and meet him every week and assured that everything would be fine.

Week after week passed by but nothing happened. There was absolutely no improvement in him. The mother became anxious every time they left guru ji’s hut. She’d ask her son every time about the conversation and he’d end up answering,”We spoke about food and flowers, funny games and his magic tricks  and a little secret I wouldn’t tell you about.” This would make the mother all the more anxious. But she kept her faith on the monk clad in saffron and would take her son every week for their little session. But then one fine week, things got all sorted. Her son came back from his session and he was all transformed. There was a sense of understanding within him. So the mother went back and asked the monk about it.

“What was it that made him so different all of a sudden? Was it that secret?” asked the mother.

“Thank God he kept my promise. You’ve got an amazing son. Firstly the only way you can make a child learn is through examples. Not by beating him up. He’ll end up being a rebel. When I was a kid I remember following the people I looked up to or loved. I did the same with your son. I became his trust-worthy friend. I told him how even I had an addiction to jaggery. He promised me that he’d stop once I stop. I stopped and he followed suit.”

This kind of has become one of the most impressionable stories I’ve ever come across. The real achievement lies in learning to follow your advice yourself rather than preaching it all around but never paying real heed to the same advice in your own way. So basically I don’t get to ask you to stop eating my ice-cream when I gallop more than half of it when you offer it to me for tasting.

Too much philosophy! So I had the honor of organizing “Reverbe: the fashion parade” for IIIT Delhi’s annual cult fest Odyssey this year. We have a little Foosball table in our common room. So one of the models walked in and with his “hipster like attitude” said to me, “Where are the balls?”

And I be like, “You’ve got them right?” 😛 #BeingSwagger B)

Peace in.

Leave a Reply

