Frozen


   

This week I got to visit the RamChandi Beach. And throughout the vacation I’ve realized how much I love going to the beaches. There is absolute peace in just having to sit at the beach and looking at the waves. I love the way the sand rises inside the water like a cloud of brown dust when you step into the low water land. Sometimes I feel like there is so much to see and so little time. I’m gonna miss Odisha. 



    It’s been an overwhelming ride. From the Peshawar attacks to the missing Asian Airlines, a lot has happened in the last month. And as the year comes to a close I wanted to kind of review the year. And then it struck me, are we really taking a step forward?

    I’ve recently come across a lot of hatred and a not-so-favorable response to the depiction of the gay characters in my favorite sit-com “Modern Family”. This sit-com happened to be my ray of hope when everything in my life seemed gloomy and like the end of the world. This was that one show that made me feel like “Yes, I can have a family. I too deserve to live a happy life and I deserve to be loved”.  That reminded me of that episode where both the fathers of the couple are trying hard to make sure that it’s their son acting as the man of the family, only to realize that their sons lived an equal relationship through-out. There does not have to be a man and a woman to make it all work. You only need unconditional love. Mitchell is very much me in a gazillion amount of ways. In fact Mitchell and Claire are the kind of siblings that my sister and I are. My sister was a lot better than I was ever at sports. I was the docile damsel in distress and my sis my savior who fought all the nagging. And then there are these allegations about how the show depicts its gay characters in the eighties stereotypical manner. Yeah right, a gay football coach is so typical! Ain’t it?! 
          The Peshawar attack has been perhaps the most mindless act of revenge I’ve come across since the Taliban attacked Malala which she rose out of stronger than ever. It is really sad when revenge is the only thing that matters and you do that by killing innocent kids. It’s like the Taliban wants to proclaim it to the world that we are so strong that the only way we can prove it is by killing kids!

    The following is an excerpt from the blog that Leelah had written as a suicide note before being struck and killed on the Ohio Interstate:

“The only way I will rest in peace is if one day transgender people aren’t treated the way I was, they’re treated like humans, with valid feelings and human rights. Gender needs to be taught about in schools, the earlier the better. My death needs to mean something. My death needs to be counted in the number of transgender people who commit suicide this year. I want someone to look at that number and say “that’s fucked up” and fix it. Fix society. Please.” – (Leelah) Alcorn

Source: Tumblr

    I realize that this is a long ride and that me getting frustrated will do no good to anybody. But this needs to stop. There really is a lot better world that awaits us and the only way we can experience is by fighting and living. I completely understand the kind of pressure and stress Leelah must’ve gone through before having taken such a drastic decision. But there is nothing on this earth that is worth killing oneself. The only way we can help is by accepting and understanding. One can never force us to do things that suits their interest. As long as what I do doesn’t adversely affect the people I love and who care for me, there is nothing wrong in standing up for my belief. 

    The world will be a much better place if we could only look at it beyond the existence of a perfect man and a perfect woman. If we could only blur the lines, if a man could someday take as much pride in wearing a skirt as a woman takes in wearing her pants. It’s time we sit back and analyze if we are frozen in time.

2 thoughts on “Frozen

Leave a Reply

