For the sake of MILK

Bruce Springsteen had once said and I quote, “I don’t want to be rich. I don’t want to be famous. I don’t even want to be happy. I just want to be great.”

Some days back I spoke to some one very special to me. Some one who loves me a lot more than I could think of. That person is some one I look up to. That person’s resilience made me fight my biggest fear. But that person, let’s just name that person say, Ex. Ex asked me to stop making my articles so public. Ex wanted me to be out, but not so quick. Ex wanted me to maintain a more private life. For my homosexuality according to Ex would make me distant. Distant from my roots. After all acceptance doesn’t come at once. It is a process. When I sit down to type, I’m not thinking of how my blog will make the world go upside down. I type for acceptance. I type for awareness. That might just get the world go upside down, after all you never know! πŸ˜‰

I sat down to watch Milk, the 2008 american movie based on the life of one of the most incredible man who ever lived. Milk is not just a movie. It’s an experience. A movie so incredibly real, you could almost see the amount of effort that goes into making something as notable and wonderful as Milk. By the end of it I couldn’t stop crying. And I never in my life have ever cried watching a movie. Sean Penn is beyond perfect playing Harvey Milk. That one thing that keeps striking you is the character. I cannot imagine the amount of trouble and mess that people must have gone through to keep things going during the seventies. Even till the early nineties, it was only the gay people who supported themselves.Only ten percent of the entire of the world, supported themselves. Imagine the kind of life where you have no one to tell you you’re not wrong. But Milk had hope and he taught everyone out there to live by it.

I came across the movie Milk while watching the 2009 Academy awards which I FYI was watching only because Slumdog Millionaire had been nominated for an Oscar. I was still closeted back then. I didn’t even know I was gay back then (I didn’t know the way I felt was called gay) and I don’t think I could have ever imagined the kind of influence this movie would someday have on me. I feel sad when I see the amount of people who’ve fought for gay rights and then the way it is still perceived in India. And why just India? There are so many countries where there is still so much to be done. Now there’s no time to be tired. Let’s pull up our socks and get going. There’s so much work to be done.

Leave a Reply

